It’s the most wonderful time of the year..

Sanctimommies, crunchy granola moms, moms without any experience in this, and in general, snarky bitches… take a seat, and then carry it far far away… this post is not for you.

Now that that is out of the way… lets discuss the topic at hand; the most wonderful time of the year. And no, I am not talking about when the crimson dressed stalker pedophile comes shimmying his fat ass down your chimney (tell me you haven’t ever thought of Santa that way? Cuz if you haven’t, you are gonna now, aren’t you!?)

I am talking about back to school!! Now, our neighbors to the south have already ditched their kiddos a few weeks back, while us Canadians have been in the trenches a little while longer. But, that is all about to end! We have ONE WEEK LEFT PEOPLE!!!

But who’s counting?

Oh wait, I fucking am!!

Now, lets make one thing clear, I love my kids. They are the light in my eye, my greatest accomplishment, my favorite little humans, bla bla bla. I do though – I adore them – those little crotch goblins make me very happy.

HOWEVER! Being in close quarters with them for months at a time…. that is so no bueno!!

My kids are smart, they are gifted, they are funny, they are kind, they are gracious, they are considerate, they are thoughtful, they are bright, they are cute, they are athletic… people, as a whole, seem to enjoy them. That being said…. they are also annoying as shit at times and get under my skin in a way that not many can. So a little space between us all may be a good idea right now. Let’s be serious – it is the ONLY option right now. For the sake of all of us, it must be done.

I miss them when they are at school, sure. And this year will be even different. My oldest is starting high school, my middle is starting junior high and my baby is starting elementary. It is a big year. Big changes. Big shift. Now they will be in two schools, two different schedules, two sports teams, two sets of administrators to get to know… its a shift in our space time continuum. But we will handle it, just as we always do.

Lots of parents get sad on the first day of school, and this year I probably will be one of them. But instead of wallowing, my husband and I are going to get pedicures and go for drinks on a patio. Yup. You heard it… pedis and cocktails! (my husband is only coming with me so I am not alone, as every pedicure I have ever had has been with my best friend, but she moved away last year… and his “cocktail” will consist of beer, and possibly tequila… lets just hope our shit-ass Alberta weather holds up for just another week and a half… hopefully longer.. so not ready for winter yet, but that is for another time)

I’m ready. It is time.

Take me back to routine. Take me back to packed lunches and little ice packs. Take me back to hugs on the way to class and hugs at pick-up (not the older two, obviously). Take me back to smiles and stories in the truck on the way home. Take me back to “best part – worst part” over dinner. Take me back to volleyball practice and games on the weekends. Take me back to quiet for a few hours a day!

I adore my fuck trophies. But god damn, do I fucking also love peace and quiet. And after 2 solid months of “mom, can I…” I am ready to be the only person asking myself for things for a few hours a day. Not that I talk to myself a lot, but truthfully, sometimes I do. Hey, sometimes its the only pleasant conversation I have all day long… hahahahaha!!!

So, parents, raise your wine bottle to the sky and repeat after me…..

….. it’s the most wonderful time of the yeeeeear…..

I’ll see you all back in the trenches next June… but for now…. Bye Felicia.

 

Leave a Reply

