Fucking participation medals…

We are living in a different world than I grew up in. When I was a kid, if you failed at something, you tried harder. If you sucked at something, you either tried to master it, or you moved on to something else. If you didn’t study, you got a great big F on your paper/test. We were taught that failing was part of life, and you got back what you put in.

Nowadays, asses are patted, and everyone wins. No one fails, even if they don’t know shit. Everyone is included. And even if you don’t know what you’re doing, you get a participation medal/ribbon.

What the fuck is that!? We are raising a society of sniveling little punk ass bitches, who’s feelings are more important than reality, and they feel entitled and deserving of everything, even if they just straight up do NOT.

My kids played sports, but score wasn’t kept. They all came home with ribbons and medals, just for showing up. That is shit. I kept score! Cuz you know what, if you don’t know you suck, how are you ever going to get better!?

My son just finished his second season of volleyball. And almost all of the parents and coaches are all like “good try!” even when the ball wasn’t touched, was way out, or their set smashed them in their face. No way dude… I was the parent on the sidelines going, “SERIOUSLY! the ball doesn’t hit the floor! use your kneepads! GO! watch the tip!!!” They won’t get better if they think that effort is satisfactory. Now, I am not one of the crazy sport parents who berate their child, other children, refs, coaches or parents. But I made sure my son knew how to play so he would improve. Nothing wrong with that.

Now shifting gears; my little dudes bday party is this weekend. And when we did the Kindergarten orientation, the teacher said “birthday invites – you invite all the girls, all the boys, the entire class, or you do it quietly away from the classroom” So, that is what we did. We stalked parents for days, figuring out who belonged to whom, and when the time came, we handed the invites TO THE PARENTS, in the parking lot, away from the watchful eyes of the children. None of the kids even knew they were invited.

Did this stop the drama? Oh, fuck no.

At another childs birthday party, I was accosted and hollered at by one mother, who angrily sat on the bench beside me (and was hunting me down on facebook while she was flipping shit on me, but I didn’t know this until the day after) and asked me when my sons bday party was. I said “ehhh” because I was about to inform her that he was only allowed to invite 3 boys and 3 girls, as we were having it at our home. But before any actual words came out of my mouth, she hollered at me and accused me of lying to her. Told me she knew I didn’t invite her son, and then proceeded to accuse me of lying to her. In the middle of this boys birthday party. I bit my tongue, rolled my eyes (there was literally no avoiding that) and told the other moms who were standing there dumbfounded, that I would see them on Monday. And I left. And I later learned that another mom defended me after I left, and this other woman complained about me for a while after I was already gone. And then I learned that she was bad mouthing me to other parents!

What the actual hell, woman. This is total horseshit, and completely unnecessary behavior. SHE is the one who told her son that he wasn’t invited. SHE is the one who spread it around to the other kids and parents. SHE is the one who lost her shit at a 5 year olds birthday party and created a scene. And SHE is the one who accosted me again, at my sons birthday presentation at school. Again, she came up to me, all red faced and angry, and asked me why I excluded ONLY her son.

This is never going to end. She is also bad mouthing and shit talking me on facebook in a mommy chat page (I am not on that page any more, because I can not stand the bullshit drama and cattiness of most women). I am over this. Her son is a bully and has attacked 2 of my children. My son doesn’t want to go to school anymore because of this child, so why the hell would I allow that into his safe space!?

Give your fucking head a shake, and maybe some of the crazy will escape. Because I am straight up finished with the bullshit and drama. Your kid wasn’t invited. I didn’t punch him. I didn’t yell at him. I didn’t “nah nah nah nah boo boo” him in front of everyone.

The entire world isn’t fair, isn’t always inclusive, and isn’t always going to shit skittle rainbows.

Fucking participation medals. A world full of over-sensitive bitches and spoiled rotten entitled little snot nosed brats.

 

 

Leave a Reply

